About This Web Site

(Site History, Policies, Disclaimers, and Permissions)

Who's Who

This web site is meant to be both educational and entertaining, with its construction and maintenance being a labor of love. It is the result of combining two formerly separate mechanical music endeavors. In 1997 Terry Hathaway initiated a web site devoted to historical research and education relating to large mechanical music machines. This site later added audio recordings of certain rare and historic automatic musical instruments, so that it was possible for visitors to actually hear and enjoy the sound of mechanical music as it once existed during its long ago heyday (A music licensing agency eventually thought a fee should be paid for the use of each 70- to 90-year old tune fragment, so they were removed despite thousands of old recordings of similar music being allowed on YouTube).

The Mechanical Music Press web site was inaugurated in 2002, operated by Art Reblitz and Tim Westman. It was primarily for advertising and showcasing Art Reblitz’s new book, The Golden Age of Automatic Musical Instruments, a 436-page masterpiece that illustrates many spectacular automatic musical instruments from the collections of Robert Gilson, James Krughoff, and Jasper Sanfilippo. Then, in April of 2003, the historical mechanical music history pages on Terry Hathaway’s Hathaworld web site were transferred to and merged into the Mechanical Music Press site, the result of which forms the basis of what you see here today.

The marriage of these two formerly separate and distinct web sites provided a more powerful and diverse stage for the presentation of mechanical music technology and its fascinating history, by uniting the compatible interests and enthusiasm of several people, each one participating in a complimentary and synergistic way. Terry Hathaway, for instance, had an expanded platform to present additional historical articles and research, while Art Reblitz, now had a ready platform to announce and distribute not only his currently in-print books, but gave him the motivation to finish other writing projects and easily make them publicly accessible. Moreover, a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page now allowed Mr. Reblitz to present commonly submitted questions in a way that everyone can learn from and enjoy, while, at the same time, relieve him from having to answer the same type of question over and over again, thus giving him more time to create new and interesting publications.

With the new combined format in place, numerous historical articles and instrument profiles were added over the intervening years. Then, in 2009, the biggest change and/or improvement to the original site layout took place, when a new Mechanical Music Registry section was added. The purpose of the new Registry section was not so much to convey mechanical music history, but to enumerate what still existed. This meant sorting out and compiling years worth of notes about existing instruments that Art Reblitz had collected over a lifetime of researching, collecting, and restoring mechanical music instruments, and then publishing this vast collection of details in a logical and easy to comprehend and use way. But this original concept quickly morphed into a more expanded view of the Registry, when it was realized that it could and should also accommodate other types of sequential information, such as original de Kleist and Wurlitzer ledger information that had become available due to the research by Dave Bowers in preparation for a new book to be jointly written by himself and Art Reblitz, The Reblitz-Bowers Guide to Coin-Operated American Pianos and Orchestrions.

From the first days of the Mechanical Music Press it has been Faith Westman who has taken care of the day to day customer service aspects relating to book sales, preparing, and shipping out book orders, so that Mechanical Music Press customers could enjoy prompt and timely service for items purchased. Tim Westman was originally responsible for domain name registration and other related affairs so as to keep the Mechanical Music Press web site up and running. Terry Hathaway volunteered for the task of part-time webmaster, keeping the web site up to date, as well as be a contributing author for additional historical information as time and interest permitted. In 2010 Tim Westman officially relinquished his duties relative to the Mechanical Music Press, they then being assumed by Art Reblitz, whereupon Reblitz Restorations became the sponsor of record for the Mechanical Music Press web site.

Privacy Policy

No visitor or customer preferential or address information that may be derived from access, mail order sales, or any other kind of communication is shared, sold, rented, or otherwise made available in any form to any outside person or entity.

Any contact information referenced within this site is (1) public information available elsewhere, (2) specifically authorized by the person or parties concerned, or is (3) shown for historical purposes and is functionally obsolete.

Some minimal information is routinely collected by our Internet Service Provider, such as browser type, file access information, etc. This information is occasionally accessed to analyze statistical usage trends and to improve site layout and performance. No "cookies" are set or used by this site, but it is possible that the hosting service may set a cookie for reasons entirely unknown to the authors of this web site.

Errors and Omissions

Any and all aspects of this site are subject to revision, correction, change, and/or removal without prior notice or obligation to any person or entity. Diligence and a best effort to minimize inaccuracies within this site is ongoing, but, under no circumstances shall there be any guarantee or warrantee, either stated, inferred, construed, or otherwise implied, regarding the authenticity, accuracy, correctness, or usefulness of any material contained within this site. It is essentially impossible, for instance, to verify beyond doubt portions of the historical material presented, due to dimmed memories and the often necessary reliance on hearsay, old stories and/or anecdotal evidence procured or offered through various sources. Therefore, anyone using and/or relying upon any information contained within this site does so at their own risk, and without recourse or remedy.

To report errors or offer suggestions please contact the webmaster at:


Throughout this web site certain text and graphic content, such as logos and personal photographs, have been made available for use within this site that are the copyrighted property of various individuals and/or other legal entities and therefore are restricted for use or reproduction elsewhere. However, permission is hereby granted to reproduce and use textual material within this site that is specifically not excerpted from a credited source, as long as such usage is for "fair and reasonable use," such as brief quotations embodied in articles and reviews, and a credit line is given. Please note that the absence of a credit line or copyright statement for a specific textual or graphic element DOES NOT guarantee or indicate any kind of implied or actual consent or permission to use, copy, or otherwise reproduce this restricted copyright content.

If in doubt, please write the webmaster for permissions in regards to specific content at:


The term copyright © 2001 (-2016) by Mechanical Music Press, et al., means that the Mechanical Music Press is the underlying copyright holder for materials on this web site, but that the authors of certain published pieces retain their own individual copyright status, which takes precedence over the underlying blanket Mechanical Music Press copyright. The copyright holder of any particular page can be easily determined by simply viewing the page's source code, and then observe the author meta tag located in the page header.